Makeup and Beauty Blog

Beauty product reviews, makeup tips and news from your friendly neighborhood beauty addict.

Barbie Loves MAC

Posted by Karen on February 20, 2007

Here are a few pictures of the Barbie Loves MAC loot I picked up this weekend.
Barbie Loves MAC

Barbie Loves Mac2

From left to right:
Fab Blush (Frost)
Pearl Sunshine Beauty Powder
Pearl Blossom Beauty Powder
Fashion Pack Lipglass
Style It Up Lipstick (Frost)

Within the last two years I’ve developed a serious blush addiction, so I wanted to get the pink blush, Don’t Be Shy, but they ran out. I recently got Dollymix and I’ve been using that as my go-to pink blush for the past two months so I wasn’t too disappointed.

Fab looks a bit dark in person, but I’ve found that it’s kind of sheer on my skin so it takes a while for the color to build and I have to add a few layers. The MAC website describes Fab as a “mid-tone plum with gold pearl,” but on me it looks like a reddish brown with gold flecks. I use a 129 Blush Brush with it and gently bounce the brush on the apples of my cheeks to get a soft brown cheek.

Both Beauty Powders are to die for – I’m seriously thinking about purchasing backups. I’ve been looking for a highlighter without disco-ball glitter and the Beauty Powders deliver a subtle, tasteful shimmer. You can use Pearl Sunshine as an all-over highlighter and as a brow highlighter. Pearl Blossom is also a great highlighter and can also be used to brighten up your inner eye. Use a small, fluffy eye brush like MAC’s 217 blending brush and tap the powder gently over your concealer to instantly get a bright-eyed look.

I purchased Style It Up Lipglass and Fashion Pack Lipstick because I’m currently on the hunt for my holy grail neutral lip. I was first a little scared by the “Frost” in Style it Up but when applied found that the frost is very subtle, not scary like the Wet & Wild frost lipsticks from the 80s. I line my lips first with Subculture lipliner, and use the 316 Lip Brush to first add Style it Up. I then blot and then dab Fashion Pack on with the same brush. Love it!

I tried to order the Barbie Loves MAC T-shirt online but it’s on backorder for the next two weeks, boo hoo! The makeup artists at the MAC counter were wearing them this weekend and the shirts are really cute in person. If I do end up getting it I’ll take a pic and post it.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

